Be Honest for Your Future

Be Honest for Your Future

Few things are easier to lie about than the future. And few people are easier to lie to than ourselves.

It is therefore not surprising that people spend lifetimes lying to themselves about where they’re going and why. It’s easier to put off doing something difficult, and it’s comforting to tell ourselves that we’ll get around to it later.

But lying to ourselves about our goals is like paying off a loan by taking out an even bigger loan. It makes today easier, but makes tomorrow more difficult.

“People who consider their careers to have been successful are 81% less likely to have exaggerated their career plans when they were younger.” Ingram 1998″

One thought on “Be Honest for Your Future

  1. Mike Lyles says:

    I especially like your line “But lying to ourselves about our goals is like paying off a loan by taking out an even bigger loan”. That’s very true. I’ve been an IT professional for almost 20 years now but for at least 10 of those years I have known my passion is coaching, mentoring, writing, blogging, speaking, and helping others grow. Just in 2012 I have started chasing this passion aggressively. I don’t want to go another ten years before I’m doing what I was out on this earth to do. Thank you for this charging blog. I got to move faster!!

Leave a Reply

