“Find Your Own Path”

…continued from the same book…still more to come!

“Find Your Own Path.

Watch cars come off the assembly line, and you will see the same functions and capabilities in model after model. That’s what they’re designed for, that’s how they’re made. We buy them with the expectation that each will do the same thing, and the individual differences between cars are significant or nonexistent. 

People, however, are not products off an assembly line. Even when we emerge from teh same time and place, with the same training and upbringing, our differences are present from the start and will be present forever.

Before you try to live up to someone else’s expectations, or reproduce someone else’s success, ask yourself whether that is what you were really made for.”

My Take:

This was a great read overall, but parts like this one stood out the most–especially because I can relate. My whole life was basically set in stone; I was to be a veterinarian since I loved animals so much since I was able to walk. Right out of high school, I attended Cal Poly, San Luis Obispo’s rigorous pre-veterinary program. I was out in the labs with livestock (which I had not expected…I was thinking more along the lines of dogs and cats!), studying hard, etc.

Halfway through, I realized…I don’t want to do this.

This was equivalent to a 10.0+ earthquake (described as “Massive/Epic” on the Richter scale) in my family. For those of you who may not know, Indians are incredibly status driven. Doctors and engineers get the gold medals. So in a sense, I feel I may have shattered my parents dreams…of me becoming a veterinarian.

Was it scary? Yes. Do I regret it? No.

I did not want to do it, and I would not have been happy. 

I graduated 1 year ago (Aug 2011), with a degree in animal science and minor in wine and viticulture. 2 science programs at one of the best universities in the country. It was a rough ride, but well worth it. Now, did I use my degree? No. Even better for my parents, what were they going to do with me? Moreover, what were they going to tell other people?! (If you’re Indian, you know how relevant that is).

I took a year off. Another hit. I needed a break! I was burnt out from 5 years of non-stop school, including summers, and again, a B.S. is much harder than a B.A. due to the labs — more time consuming. I took the GRE, applied to schools, got into a program that only accepted 15 people a year (Environmental Science program). Did I go? No. Of course at this point, the countless aunties had been calling around being nosey asking what I’m doing etc., and of course, at this point, everyone thinks I’m stupid (yes, just because I’m not doing something status-driven; but I could care less because I know what I’ve accomplished thus far and it wasn’t a walk in the park…I especially how the ones who have no education whatsoever can compare their R.N. children to me & make my parents feel like I’m a failure. Tards…I choose not be in a nasty environment surrounded by sick people and work in a closed dwelling. Not my thang, but props to those of you who can do it!) & I’m “sitting aruond at home”. Things just kept looking worse and worse and I knew I was starting to worry my parents. 

Now? Now I’ve finally decided & been admitted & will be going to a Kinesiology graduate program for my M.S. It’s been a long journey of ups and downs and actually is just beginning. Now the questions come of what will I  do with this degree…and I know I will do something great (whether or not I use my degree I hate to mention!) because I will find and pursue my passion! 

Moral of the story — people may not be happy with your decisions, but it is your decision. If you are taking actions, you are progressing. It’s hard to fathom how difficult it’s going to be telling your parents, especially if you’re going to be living at home and spent a long time looking for and failing to find a job (I blame the economy and my refusal to work on weekends…), but in the end, they will learn to accept your decision and ultimately you will be happier once you do what you believe in!

~There’s no doubt you cannot succeed in what you love. It’s the drive that gets you there.~ 

I do not own this picture

Leave a Reply

